Welsh Assembly: Towards Zero Carbon Wales

In 2006 Jane Davidson of the Welsh Assembly Government announced that as part of Wales commitment to sustainability, all homes in Wales should be build to Code Level 4 or higher.  The Code for Sustainable Homes (CSH) is a UK standard for key elements of design and consutrcution which contribute to the effect a new home has on the environment. 

The areas covered are:

  • Energy and carbon dioxide emissions
  • Water use
  • Materials
  • Surface water run-off
  • Waste
  • Pollution
  • Health and well-being
  • Management and Ecology

A home can achieve a rating from one to six stars, depending on how well it has achieved Code standards. One star is the entry level and six stars is the highest level – a zero carbon home.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

« Workhouse, Presteigne: The First Build | Main